How are the President and the Commissioners of the European Commission elected?

CEC/ September 24, 2019/ Actualités, News

How are the President and the Commissioners of the European Commission elected?

Since the Lisbon Treaty, the President of the European Commission is elected by the European Parliament based on a proposal of the European Council which appoints its candidate by the qualified majority “by taking account of the results of the European Parliament Elections”. If this candidate is not approved by the Parliament, the European Council suggests a new one in a month period, and under the same procedure (art. 17 TUE).

The other European Commissioners are appointed by the Member States. The president distributes the portfolios amongst them. The list of commissioners is then adopted by the Council by the qualified majority. Then the constituted college is submitted to a vote for approval at the European Parliament, after auditions of the candidates in front of relevant parliamentary commissions.

After the approval from the Parliament, heads of States or Governments (European Council) name officially the Commission acting by a qualified majority.

Members of the Commission, although appointed by their respective governments, do not represent their State: they are independent and must not endure any pressure in the execution of their mission, or exercise another professional activity.

A member of the Commission can be dismissed by the CJEU (Court of Justice of the European Union) by request of the Council or the Commission, if he fails to fulfil the obligations related to his functions. He has to resign if the President asks him to.

The German Ursula von der Leyen has been elected as the new President of the European Commission.

Agenda for the nomination of Commissioners of the European commission for the 2019-2024 period:

Early September 2019, the Council approves of the list of appointed commissioners, and then Mrs Von Der Leyen passes the proposal of portfolios to the EP.

Auditions of the EP will take place from September 30th until October 8th 2019. Before that, candidates will be sent by the EP a written questionnaire to which they must have answered in writing before the audition.

The auditions last 3 hours and are streamed live.

Afterwards, each parliamentary commissions make a report on each audition and the EP prepares to vote, which is planned on October 23rd (inauguration vote of the new Commission: if problems occur during the auditions, a solution must be found before October 23rd) in order for the new Commission to assume function on November 1st 2019.

Here is the list of commissioners appointed by their Member States: https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/IP_19_5542

Share this Post

Comment sont élus le président et les commissaires de la Commission européenne ?

CEC/ septembre 24, 2019/ Actualités

Comment sont élus le président et les commissaires de la Commission Européenne ?

Depuis le traité de Lisbonne, le président de la Commission européenne est élu par le Parlement européen, sur proposition du Conseil européen qui désigne son candidat à la majorité qualifiée « en tenant compte du résultat aux élections au Parlement européen ». Si ce candidat n’est pas approuvé par le Parlement, le Conseil européen en propose un nouveau dans un délai d’un mois, et selon la même procédure (art. 17 TUE).

Les autres commissaires sont désignés par les États membres. Le président répartit les portefeuilles entre eux. La liste des commissaires est ensuite adoptée par le Conseil à la majorité qualifiée. Puis le collège ainsi constitué fait l’objet d’un vote d’approbation au Parlement européen, après audition des candidats devant les commissions parlementaires concernées.

Après approbation du Parlement, les chefs d’État et de gouvernement (le Conseil européen) nomment officiellement la Commission en statuant à la majorité qualifiée.

Les membres de la Commission, bien que désignés par leurs gouvernements respectifs, ne représentent pas leur État : ils sont indépendants et ne doivent subir aucune pression dans l’exécution de leur mission, ni exercer d’autre activité professionnelle.

Un membre de la Commission peut être démis par la CJUE (Cour de Justice de l’Union Européenne) à la demande du Conseil ou de la Commission, s’il n’a pas respecté les obligations découlant de sa charge. Il doit présenter sa démission si le président de la Commission le lui demande.

L’allemande Ursula von der Leyen a été élue à la présidence de la Commission Européenne.

Calendrier pour la nomination des Commissaires de la Commission européenne pour la période 2019-2024:

Début septembre 2019, le Conseil approuve la liste des commissaires désignés, puis Mme Von der Leyen transmet au PE la proposition de répartition des portefeuilles

Les auditions au PE auront lieu du 30 septembre au 8 octobre 2019. Elles seront précédées de l’envoi par le PE aux candidats d’un questionnaire écrit, auquel les candidats doivent répondre par écrit avant l’audition.

Les auditions durent trois heures et sont diffusées en direct.

Puis, il y a des rapports des commissions parlementaires sur chaque audition et la préparation du vote du PE, prévu le 23 octobre (vote d’investiture de la nouvelle Commission: si des problèmes apparaissent pendant les auditions début octobre, recherche d’une solution avant le 23) de façon à ce que la nouvelle Commission prenne ses fonctions le 1/11/19.

Voici le lien vers la liste des Commissaires européens désignés par leur État membre : https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/IP_19_5542

Share this Post